lobiiv.blogg.se

Jriver media center chromecast
Jriver media center chromecast







jriver media center chromecast
  1. #Jriver media center chromecast full
  2. #Jriver media center chromecast windows 10

but I would still need an app to interface with the streamer, on my PC, right? (I'm not really into using my android phone as a remote player, I much prefer the ease of using a keyboard and full sized monitor display). I get that I could take the music files completely off of my PC and have them stored on an external drive (which I already do for backup purposes), and then the streamer accesses the files from there. With JRiver I can easily navigate around my library, sort and view files, etc, on my standard desktop monitor display or on my large-screen TV which also connects to my PC, using a keyboard and mouse. I don't understand how exactly a streamer works, particularly in terms of the UI and display. I am a single person living in a bedroom basically, so I don't have multiple different rooms, systems or libraries to manage. I love the DAC-R, I wish it handled DSD but my Oppo takes care of that. I'm happy with the sound I'm getting and everything is configured to my liking, but I'm wondering if there would be anything to be gained by getting a dedicated hardware streamer. JRiver handles all my local library files, and I use Audirvana exclusively for streaming Qobuz which I subscribe to and listen to occasionally (the Qobuz desktop app for Windows is buggy and I haven't been able to get it to work properly in the two-plus years I've been using Qobuz, and they won't fix it, so I paid $75 for the old version of Audirvana before they replaced it with their Studio version, and that allows me to stream all Qobuz music up to 192 kHz without issues). I have my Windows settings configured to allow exclusive audio output control by JRiver and Audirvana, and the settings within those apps optimized so that Windows soundcard isn't messing with the sound. I have USB cables going from the PC to the Rega DAC-R and to the Oppo, with the Rega handling the conversion of all PCM digital formats and the Oppo handling the DSD files (which comprise less than 5% of my music library). Given this setup, all of the digital music files I play (apart from what little listening I do anymore on CD, SACD, DVD-A on the Oppo) are being handled by my regular old Dell PC. (I'm getting a Rega P6 turntable in the very near future, as well as a dedicated headphone amp and headphones, but those are not relevant to the present digital discussion).

jriver media center chromecast

#Jriver media center chromecast windows 10

Here is my current setup:ĭell Windows 10 desktop PC with JRiver Media Center 28 and Audirvana (old version) I listen to mostly digital music and most of that is from my local library of lossless files. Dumb question from a newbie here, so if there is a page where the functions and benefits of hardware music streamers or servers is explained in a way I could understand, feel free to point me there.









Jriver media center chromecast